Inclusive Learning Council

The Inclusive Learning Council includes members from each college, school and academic unit at VCU who work directly with the director for diversity education and retention initiatives. Meetings are held twice each semester.

The council includes individuals who serve as diversity director, diversity coordinator and diversity committee chairperson. Its role includes:

  • Serving as a resource to academic units and their diversity leaders on diversity, equity and inclusion initiatives
  • Offering support and advice for programming and systematic monitoring of progress in academic unit efforts to implement diversity plans and inclusive excellence initiatives
  • Advising the provost, vice president for health sciences, deans and vice provosts 
  • Working with the vice president for inclusive excellence
  • Engaging in educational and informational opportunities by working with guest speakers, consultants and facilitators; providing progress updates

Council members

  • Holly Alford, M.F.A., director of Diversity and Inclusion, VCUArts and associate professor, Fashion Design
  • Jihad Aziz, Ph.D., interim director, Office of Multicultural Student Affairs and director, University Counseling Center
  • Debra Barksdale, Ph.D., associate dean of Academic Affairs, School of Nursing
  • Karen E. Belanger, director, Student Conduct and Academic Integrity
  • Adrien DeLoach, Ph.D., director, Division for Health Sciences Diversity
  • Herschell Emery, Ph.D., director of undergraduate curricula, VCU Life Sciences
  • Elsie Harper-Anderson, Ph.D., assistant professor, Wilder School of Government and Public Affairs
  • Kevin A. Harris, assistant vice president for Academic Health Sciences
  • Courtney Hines, assistant director of Human Resources, School of Dentistry
  • Hyojin Im, Ph.D., assistant professor, School of Social Work
  • Donna Jackson, assistant dean for admissions and director, Office of Student Outreach, School of Medicine
  • Jacqueline Smith-Mason, Ph.D., associate dean and director of Academic Affairs, Honors College
  • Kelechi “KC” Ogbonna, associate dean for Admissions and Student Services and associate professor, School of Pharmacy
  • Lorraine Parker, Ph.D., director of Diversity and Student Programs, School of Engineering
  • Joan Pellegrini, Ph.D., associate professor, Oral Health and Community Outreach, School of Dentistry
  • Helayne Spivak, executive director, VCU Brandcenter
  • Alexander Tartaglia, D.Min., senior associate dean, School of Allied Health Professions
  • Melissa Tyler, assistant dean, VCU Graduate School
  • Patricia Wallace, director of human resources, School of Business
  • Michelle Whitehurst-Cook, M.D., associate dean of Admissions, School of Medicine
  • Marcie Wright, Ph.D., assistant professor and director, Grants Development and Administration, VCU Center on Health Disparities
  • Fernando Tenjo, Ph.D., co-chair, Inclusion, Diversity and Equity Committee, College of Humanities and Sciences
  • Ravi K. Perry, Ph.D., co-chair, Inclusion, Diversity and Equity Committee and Chair, Political Science, College of Humanities and Sciences